Wednesday, October 01, 2008

The Suspenders in Picture

Okay, so I sent Amanda pictures of the suspenders in question because she was skeptical and I was a little unsure of my choice.

Here are the pics. They are very bad and taken with my Mac photo booth in bad lighting as I was running back and forth trying to get the shot.



Outfit:
Pants-Navy Blue suit pants from Jcrew. extra long so I hemmed them into cuffs
Shirt-White 3/4 length sleeve shirt. It was fitted so it didn't look too manly
Shoes-Red patent pumps from JCrew. 4 in. wooden stack heel..the wood makes it less hooker more librarian for me.
Purse-Red Street Vendor purse from DC
Necklace-Red and blue beads
Suspenders in question-Stolen from Husband

I wish I had a red scarf or hat to complete the outfit in the Hepburn/Annie Hall way.

I changed into a blue short sleeve shirt with a star emblem later in the day after I spilled tomato soup on this shirt. The picture was taken at the end of the day after the shirt in question was saved by my dubious washing machine. Hence, the reason I look so haggard.

But what do you think?
Too much, too costumey, fun or stupid?

Tuesday, September 30, 2008

ShopLifting at Lifelong Playdate

I have shoplifted this idea from Amanda at Lifelong Playdate: she is the queen of randomness.

6 Random Things about me.

1.)I have recently discovered and love Korean food. I love spicy food and KW loves trying new things. This is a good overview of different things on most Korean restaurants. Kimchi is divine. Bokkum and BiBimBap is good too.

2.)I am sporting suspenders today ala. Katherine Hepburn and Annie Hall (a new fashion look for me driven from my pants without belt loops being too big).

3.)My A/C is out and I am about to die. Yes, it is 65 degrees here, but I only sleep well when I am cold. And leaving the window open has not been cutting it. And no one rushes to fix it when the weather is so nice. STBOOTS! They would never leave someone without A/C.

4.)I am playing Bingo tonight at the school and I might actually get to be a caller. We had the worst/best one on our cruise ship. I might try to outdo him. Or I'll puss out and just say B...B....2...B2.

5.)I have never been to a dance club, and I think that should be remedied. But it is also cause I am listening to some Usher on Pandora. I can dance, but I'm not so sure about how I would do at a club. I have a feeling I would turn into the typical white girl sway under pressure.

6.)I think I might have a problem with the TV. When some office mates were talking about which new fall shows they watch, I was saying, "Oh I love that, Oh I saw that, Oh yeah that was good..." Then one of them realized, "Uhm, have you watched everything?" Yes, yes I do. It is either that or watch KW study. What Would You Do? Heck, even Jesus would say, "turn it Gossip Girl, homes."

Monday, September 29, 2008

Holy Hell Fire

Saw this at a friend of a friend's blog: and yeah. The world is so going there.

Friday, September 26, 2008

Is your Momma a Llama and are you Emu?

So, I have told you all about my family:

We like to nickname EVERYTHING.

mine from my family, mine from KW, how this is passed on by my dad, how everyone I know gets a nickname sooner or later, that includes my dog.

My brother's new fiance (well it isn't like he had an old one, but she is new to us!)

Lots of stuff about my dad.

But I realized there is so much more blogging fodder in my family that has remained untapped: my mom.

First off let me say, my mom is great. We did not always get along great, but we are very much alike and well...we are awesome.

And there are many stories I can and will share about my mom, but I thought I would regale you with a tale from my last trip home:

Background: My mom read the book "Is your Momma a Llama?" to my brother when he was younger. Now, I don't really remember the text of the book, but I think it goes something like this: A baby llama goes around the forest/woods and asks to other baby animals, "Is your momma a llama?" To which the baby animal runs to its mother and says, "No, my momma is a ______!" And for some reason we picked up on this, and one of us would ask in a sweet voice, "Is your Momma a Llama?" someone would answer in a BIG DEEP VOICE "NO, MY MOMMA IS A BEAR!"

Back to the story: I came home from Michigan two weeks ago with dark nail polish. Now, I haven't painted my fingernails in 12 years and have no idea why I decided to but this is what it looked like.

So, I expected my mom to say "Take that ugly polish off right now." Instead she commented on how she can't remember the last time she saw my nails painted a color. However, at lunch the next day my mom and brother are whispering as I sat down and I said, "What!?!" My brother looks at me and says, "Are you being Emu now?" "Huh?" "You know, dark and whiney and angsty-pseudo goth!" I stared at my mom and she said, "Yeah, why are you being emu?"

I busted out laughing with: "It is EMO, you freaks. I am not being EMO. Nor an Emu"
to which my brother digs into his salad and mumbles, "well your momma is a llama."

yes, we are that ridiculous. Oh and remind me to tell you next time the story when my mother called my brother a son of a b*tch in a heated argument...(think about it for a minute)

Wednesday, September 24, 2008

It's not you, It's me

Dear Diet Coke,
I've tried to quit you. I've written my "Dear John" letter only to come running back to you time and time again. I know you are no good for me, but your irresistible combination of fizz and caffeine makes me long for you like no other (well, maybe KW).

But it is time to be honest with you. You're just not doing it for me anymore.

Yes, I purchase some quality time in the morning but more often than not you languish there till 3 or 4 in the afternoon. It just isn't the same. I don't long for you and feel the passionate quench that your dark carbonation once gave me.

Since I am being honest, I admit it I have strayed. I tried to keep it in the family. A Diet Dr. Pepper here, even a Diet Sunkist there. And they have been nice to spend time with now and then, but they only mask what is the true problem.

I'm just not that into you.

I have found something new in my life that fulfills the needs you used to. It is fresh and sweet and makes me feel like you used. No, it doesn't have that decaffeinated zing you do, but I get tingles just thinking about getting another cup.

Why would I do this, you ask? Well, it's just better for me.

I'm sure we'll still hang out. Long nights, road trips, fast food. I'm not giving up on us yet. I just don't want you to wait up for me anymore. It is not fair.

XOXO
The Roaming Southerner

PS. I've enclosed a picture of my love, just so you think I'm not a true traitor and creeping with Diet Pepsi behind your back. I may not be faithful, but I still have taste buds.

Tuesday, September 23, 2008

my precious...(yes, insert Gollum voice here)

So I posted about this eons ago. But I wanted to let you all know about my undying love and devotion to one special inanimate object: Natural Ice Cherry Chapstick.

Not only is this the best Lip Balm EVER. It has SPF and tingles wonderfully when applied. When I got my first tube, I do not remember. But I fell in love instantly. I am sure I stumbled onto it while doing something adventurous like shopping for hair ties in 6th grade. Immediately after my love was ignited, I realized that I could not find any more. I probably dropped/lost it somewhere 3 days later and desperate for a reunion I realized that nowhere near me sells this magic.

I created a massive search in every drugstore, grocery store, convenient store, department store, in house, and outhouse in the tri-state state area (name that movie, people!). And still no luck.

Months later, my youngest brother went on a trip (out west), and he came upon a box at a ski lodge (of course they would be there, its perfect when you are skiing). Having gone on a lot of the search with me (he was 12 and at the mercy of his driving-aged sister), he sent me several glorious tubes which I cherished. But then through the course of time, I used or lost them all.

Then came the next statewide search. I found the yucky mint kind: NO GOOD. I emailed the company who assured me that this product was located at my local CVS or Walgreens (LIARS!). So I was going to the gas station one day with no thoughts of Natural Ice on my mind (I had already switched to Burts Beeswax, which is good but it is no Natural Ice). And there on the checkout counter was a boot* full of Cherry flavored Natural Ice. I cleaned them out. Finally, two years later I ran out. I was devastated. Someone mentioned using drugstore.com, and I couldn't have typed fast enough. AND JOY OF JOYS they had it! I ordered 20 of them, delivered to my door and it was worth every red cent. They are now spread out in between my purses, coats, and drawers at home and the office. And thankfully, I will know where to go when I run out again.

*the boot wasn't an actual used, leather boot it was an acrylic "show" boot...I don't know what it had to do with Natural Ice though.

To show my commitment to My Favorite Things Swap hosted by Wendi, I actually gave up my last in the package tube of Cherry Natural Ice. Without looking up to order more, that is just the sort of selfless person I am....and humble too.

*Parts of this post was reused from a post on July 27, 2006...fun times!

Monday, September 22, 2008

Non-Emmy Award Time

So, let me tell you about one of the coolest bloggers I know: Kelly.

She is mom to the wonderful, Ben, (Try not to smile at that face!) and an all around kick butt person. But what is the cherry on her awesomeness: Her ability to quote movies and TV with me and her love of old time movies. Let's just say, we can have conversations only quoting the Office, Ghostbusters, and A Christmas Story. She also gives me some great encouragement and has wonderful stories about her adoption process(es).

Well, she was sweet enough to bestow this award to me:


This award has some rules (uh-oh)...and I will try and follow them...but you all know me...that is hard!

Here is the rundown on the smile award, as created by MERE:

Characteristics for the Smile Award:
1. Must display a cheerful attitude. (I try to)
2. Must love one another. (I think so)
3. Must make mistakes. (big fat check!)
4. Must learn from others. (I try)
5. Must be a positive contributor to blog world. (I try to be...I can be a bit negative at times, sorry)
6. Must love life. (I'm learning to love and accept the life that God gives me today)
7. Must love kids. (I love kids-but I don't have my own, hopefully this counts...I don't want them to take my award away!)

These are the rules for The Smile Award:
1. The recipient must link back the the award’s creator (I think that is Mere, mentioned above)
2. You must post these rules if you receive the award. (Done!)
3. You must chose 5 people to receive the award after receiving it yourself (done below)
4. You must fit the characteristics of the recipient of the award, as posted by Mere (um, I hope Mere approves)
5. You must post the characteristics of a recipient. (done below)
6. You must create a post sharing your win with others. (Done!!!)
7. You must thank your giver. (Thanks Kelly, you are the BOMB, as mentioned above!)

So my 5 recipients:
1.) Granola Girl--yeah, she is one of my college besties and my big sis...but she definitely fits all of the qualities of this award. She loves her kids and all kids so much. She was the ultimate summer counselor to a bunch of kids before she was married and now she is a perma-counselor to Hammy and Baby Ruth! She is also the most positive, God-loving woman I know. She is who I aspire to be.

2.) Erin at Peach in the Evergreens--One of my first blogging friends totally encompasses this award. She loves her niece(s) to pieces. And she is a kick butt teacher to kids--so she def. loves kids. Plus, she wins cookie points with me cause she loves kids without being a mom yet! She is so cheerful and full of life. AND she keeps me in check on WW. Love her!

3.) Amanda of Beans & Co.--For many reasons, Amanda deserves this award: She is so positive and shows so much joy in her life with Beans. She also handles everything with a happy and hilarious spirit. Also, anytime I get an email from her....my spirits are immediately brightened.

4.) Red & White Preppy--not only is she an awesome teacher but she is a bright spot in my blog reading day! And yes, I am honoring a few teachers here because it is the fall and that means school and that means YEA, TEACHERS!. I want to pack an apple and where my tights just thinking of it. But more than anything, Red and White Preppy is so balanced with her optimism, hope, desires, and realism. I love getting to "know" her.

5.) For someone who really doesn't know me: Clemson Girl & the Coach--She is flippin' hilarious. She lives in the best city ever (HOT-ATL!), has taught me the luxury of the three-day hair routine (seriously, her hair is like a Pantene commercial), is Catholic, loves life...and tells it like it is. She reminds me of what a big sister would be like when I was age 8: I love to learn more about her, am in awe of her style and coolness, and think she is the bees knees. Plus, to a non-mom blogger, her blog is not overly mommy...even though she loves and has some awesome kids.

6.) yeah, I'm adding another one (cause you know I like to break the rules!!!!) Have you met The Mrs. over at Trying Our Best? 'Cause she pretty much rocks--well, around the clock. She is a military wife with a great attitude and a joy for her kids, but she also tells it like it is. She is real and sweet at the same time. And that is a difficult combination to pull off, yet she does it with style.

Okay, so I think that I followed the rules--kinda. WHEW!

Friday, September 19, 2008

Goals--setting and reaching

Okay, so I have one more pound till I reach the 20 lbs lost mark.

and I'm talking about vacationing and goals on Move, Bug.

I would love to have your opinion on things.

I'm not Mad

Hey Blog,
I just wanted to let you know that I am not mad at you, dear blog. Stop shooting me accusatory glares. Also, there is no reason for you to get all dramatic and accuse me of being angry or having some made up reason to hate you.

I could never hate you. We are besties, remember?

Yeah, so you wouldn't accept my kick-ass video from my mom's house. I'm not upset about that, it just was a lot of work and I didn't feel like posting for awhile after that. You know how that goes.

Also, I have been working a lot, being on the road is hard for this blogger. It makes me want to drink, not blog. And we both know that blogging and drinking should never be done together.

I am back to my normalish routine now...work is getting more "normal" as well. So hopefully we will be able to spend loads of time, talking, whispering secrets, braiding each others hair...

Please accept my apology and stop sending threatening messages to me about how I will lose all my bloggy friends if I don't spend more quality time with you. They are good people, blog, they wouldn't desert me, right?

Take it easy...I'll be seeing you around,
XOXO
Roaming Southerner

Wednesday, September 10, 2008

Something Funny for your Wednesday

From the lovely ladies of the Sugar Network, I found:






and while I don't agree with everything she says, I did snort my diet coke through my nose listening to it.

Tuesday, September 09, 2008

Going To My Parents House, But Leaving My Home


Defining what and where home is began, for me, when I went to college. Like many people, this was the first time I had a space of MY OWN. One where my parents didn't have eminent domain.

However, they still owned my life since they were still paying for the essentials.

When I got married, I thought, "Okay, so my apartment with my husband will be my home."

But it didn't feel just like home. I loved having a nest (800 sq ft. 1 bedroom apt. can only be called a nest) with KW and since I was living off hand-me-down furniture from my mom, it looked like the home I was used to. But as soon as I got into my parents house, it was a different story...this smelt and felt like home. (even though, I only lived in that house for a total of a year-months of college summers plus time before married.) This is where "my people" lived...and that was home.

Over the years, I've noticed that changing. I still love coming to my parent's house. I love knowing where everything is, I love seeing what is different, I love going back into my mom's bathroom to do her hair in the morning (yeah, I wanted to go to beauty school so my mom let me work on my straightening and blow out skills on her), I love sitting in my dad's den and talking or not talking to him. I love playing with my brothers and seeing KW interact with my family, but my favorite part is at the end of the day...going up to the guest room (my room is used more frequently for my brother's fiancee)going up to bed and sleeping next to KW. He is my safebase. What makes me sane and what makes me feel whole and complete.

And as I am getting ready to go on my first leg of recruitment trips tonight (first stop, ATL!) I realise that while I am going to a house I love, full of people I love, my home is with him.

Sunday, September 07, 2008

Need some help!

I have one silly but continual problem.

I am having a hard time cleaning my shower. I clean it every other week but I will admit...I am not a good scrubbing kind of cleaner.

Anybody have a great cleaner out there that they love and would recommend?

I have tried it all:

-Clorox
-Bam!
-Scrubbing Bubbles Foam
-Meyers Natural Spray

But I need some suggestions.

Saturday, September 06, 2008

Geek Commercial

Very rarely does a commercial make me laugh out loud...and this one did.

Hope you enjoy it!!!

Friday, September 05, 2008

Mom envy

There are many things that I could be envious of all moms: squishy, sweet smelling babies...someone to smother with love, mold minds, shape lives..blah blah blah.

But what am I most envious about: the constant hilarious stories to blog about.

This morning's hilarity came from one of my co-workers.
I have many wonderful co-workers at my office. One, however, holds the title of MOST HILARIOUS.

Sarah came into work a little late today, so we knew that there was going to be a story surrounding that.

::background on Sarah::
She is a tiny, expressive redhead from Minnesota. She is married to a Portuguese man and they have created the most wonderful--CRAZY BABY.

::background on CRAZY BABY::
Crazy Baby got her name when I asked Sarah, "So, how is your baby?" (This was her first week and I only knew that she had a baby.) Sarah's response: Crazy...hence the name CRAZY BABY. In case you were wondering...CRAZY BABY is more of a toddler age.

CRAZY BABY definitely has earned her name.

This morning crazy baby was in fine form demanding popcorn for breakfast in her half-Portuguese way...well Sarah was not feeding her baby popcorn for the morning so she would shove some scrambled eggs in her mouth when she would moan Paaaaaaaaaahhhhhp-Cooooooooooooooooohhrn.

To make her mother pay for the egregious sin of not giving her popcorn, CRAZY BABY spite-vomited all over her mother and couch.

She evidently does this regularly.

After telling the story, Sarah began shaking her head and mumbling things about birth control.

And while the story is less funny in written form (without Sarah's comedic faces and timing), it goes to show one more thing mom's have that we non-mom's don't...hilarious stories.

Do you have any of these? I would love to hear them.

Wednesday, September 03, 2008

Witness to a Miracle

Wow,
I can not believe it has been a week without posting.
That is so strange to me. Somewhere in my head I have composed a dozen posts and have not sat down to write them. I am just that way.

I am going to take this quick moment to tell you about a miracle.

From my friend, Erin, I learned about her friend, Katie, and HER husband, Donnie, and THEIR daughter, Catherine.


Their story is very similar to several women I know, esp. a blog I read daily. Catherine was having some problems while in the womb--I won't try act like I understand the medical terminology, but best said: her organs were not where they were supposed to be. Doctor's forecasted that if Catherine lived outside the womb she would not live more than a few hours.

Go read their blog...it won't take too long...but get some Kleenex's by the keyboard.

During the months of Katie's pregnancy, I prayed and prayed for this family I didn't know...All the time, thinking that my prayers were futile...what did it mean for this family and to God to hear my prayers for someone I didn't really know. I had prayed for internet people and causes before and sadly, most miracles elude my sight line. I know there is a miracle there, just not the one I prayed for. The miracle God gave to the other's I prayed for seemed harder and less celebratory. I even called myself (only to myself) a prayer-jinx. Don't ask me to pray for you...

Not this time. Just like Mandy Moore wishes in the movie, A Walk to Remember...I got to witness a miracle of God. And it was worth the wait.

Wednesday, August 27, 2008

My baby and her baby



Shhh...I snuck a pic of Penny when she was sleeping. I had to take it with the Mac Photobooth. She never suspected a thing!?!

you all know how much she hates having her picture taken.

But this was so precious. Her snuggling with her loofah dog that we've named Hannah.

Penny was given Hannah by her aunt Vals when she stayed at the in-laws in Greenville. And she actually likes it. She is a toy snob. This is one of two toys that she will play with and sleep with and not completely ignore.

The best: she will squeeze the squeaker and moan at the noise...::deep squeak:: "oh no, Hannah, don't be upset-moan" :deep squeak: "Stop it, Hannah!-moan" I really need to get that on video sometime.

Happy start of Labor Day weekend, peeps! Wear lots of white, drink lots of *stuff*, and eat lots of watermelon. Now, I know that wearing white and eating watermelon while drinking *stuff* is disaster waiting to happen, but I have faith in your graceful abilities. Mine on the other hand...

I am how I am

I was looking back on my last couple of posts (and I know I have not been posting regularly, sorry!), and I sound like a worried wart and a Fretty Betty.

And while those thoughts from the past couple of days are very accurate, I don't want to sound overly gloomy.

My family makes fun of me because I never was able to say anything bad about anything... I always couch things nicely.

"I hate my brother, but sometimes he is okay." "I hate my Latin Class, but I'm sure it will be okay"

And I am at it again: This will be okay.
KW has started to realize my stress and has taken to letting me know how valuable I am to him and how much he loves me. (which every wife needs, I think!)

Like I mentioned in the previous post, I have some great friends here that have made the journey here worth it. Also, seeing KW's growth while at law school (professionally and personally) has been amazing.

And after I process it, all of this makes great blogging fodder (which is what it is all about, right?!?)

BTW: have a great new find on Move, Bug!

School is back in session

So KW has started his 3rd and final year of law school. And I am so conflicted. I am happy, I am sad. I am scared, I am elated.

I am happy that this is KW's last year of classes (unless he gets his LLM), and he knows what is going on with all of his classes so this should not be as stressful. However, he is now on Law Review and that is A LOT of extra work. Right now he is working on Law Review at the school...at night...he has NEVER studied at school at night. Yeah, he studies in his office and I don't see him a lot but I know he is there for a quick kiss or chat if I need it.

I am also happy that we only have one more year in Michigan (no offense, Michiganders) and to start a new adventure next year...but I am also scared (partially described here). I will miss the friends I have made here. That is one of the biggest problems of roaming as we do. I am also anxious to experience everything I can for our last year here. The good news: I will not be traveling as much, so I won't miss as many fun events this fall.

Blergh.

Tuesday, August 26, 2008

Random Streams of Thoughtciousness

To steal from Amanda, I thought I'd give you some random thoughts because my week has been so crazy...I am not sure coherent sentences will come out.

*I know I told you that my boss is leaving, but this has been particularly hard for me. I love my boss. He is the perfect amalgam of what a boss, a mentor, and a father should be. I used to joke with a coworker that he is like my dad but we both behave around each other (no fights, snide remarks, stop trying to control my life-teenage history)--it is nice. So, it hit me like a ton of bricks (that is a pretty good emotional picture for me) that he was leaving.

*With his departure, my job-that I love-was created to only be over sought by my boss is now in peril. Now I am not going to lose my job (there will be too much to do with my boss gone), but my job will not be the same. I may be sent to another department or shuffled somewhere. And this sucks too, because I was really looking forward to what this year will bring.

*Some Good/Bad things--I may end up having to travel less, which is less time away from KW and Pens but it will short cut the TRS-magical-mystery-tour. I may end up getting more responsibilities and promoted (but I hate responsibilities because they scare me)

*To top off a cracker jack week, I got threatened with a frivolous law suit by an angry parent. But at a law school you never joke about these things so it was not fun. It is resolved, I did nothing wrong, she just wanted to threaten and see what would happen. An elephant's heart medicine would not have brought down my blood pressure that day.

*KW is putting 18 more options on the pile of what he might do after graduation: Germany, Luxembourg, Australia, UCLA, NYC, and maybe even Atlanta (want to know which one scares me the most: Atlanta (UCLA is bad though, bad...I refuse to go...sorry). I am afraid of moving home because I don't want to move away after...and my rambling man husband might get itchy and that will suck to move again.

*My mom, who-like her daughter-does not always act well/give sound advice at first because she can't get over the hysteria, gave me some great advice: stop worrying, you can do nothing about any of this, and know that you are not in control of your life. God is and you have to put your faith in Him. I know all this is true but hearing it from my mom did wonders. Magic Mom Powers, huh? My mom also told me that she would spent weeks worrying about where I would go to Preschool because that would effect my entire life: development, high school prospects, college, career path, whether I hated her and moved away to Michigan. And she looks back and laughs because everything would have turned out the same (except the hate part of course)...she sees the paths looking back much clearer. And that made me feel better, safer..knowing my mom knows what I am going through and survived, nay thrived.

Yes that is right...Nay.

other more random thoughts:
*started running with a girlfriend in the morning (okay jogging....okay jogging a little while walking...okay mostly walking). Point being: my shoes are killing me. Anybody have suggestions on what kind of tennis shoes work good/don't give you blisters the size of Montana?

*I am getting excited about the fall TV lineup and for some reason really want to watch the Fringe...okay the reason is Pacey Whitter...but shut up.

*shockingly, I haven't killed my office plant and two church plants I care for. I think I drank some toxic waste and developed a super mutant power to conquer my purple thumb...cause this thing is rockin'

Sorry, for the random thoughts, but it felt good to get it off my chest. Especially the mutant powers. How can I use this power for evil?

Thursday, August 21, 2008

Favorite Things Swap and a new venture



Are you guys ready to do an internets swap!?! Go over to Wendi to check out her awesome Favorite Things Swap.

I am playing, are you?

Oh, and the button up there...yup, I helped Wendi with it!!! This was one of the first few that I have done on trade.

I am hoping to start expanding this as my knowledge grows but it is definitely a slow process. So if you would like a button, banner, or icon, let me know! I would love to get some more experience. Please email me if you have something you want to do and we can talk about a trade!?!

Wednesday, August 20, 2008

Fun Times on Wednesday

I got some bad news today. My boss is leaving the office. I know this doesn't sound like earth shattering news, but I love my boss. He is what has made this job awesome. He is by far the best boss I have ever had. He is lenient but structured. Organized but flexible...and he will be missed.

So to lighten my mood and yours...I found this for you:


I love the Brian Williams cameo...classic

Tuesday, August 19, 2008

Why TRS is Quirky #2

I hate syrup, honey, molasses, or any other sticky liquid.

Now, I don't like having sticky hands (I mean, who does? Does someone out there really just love having gunky hands...eh, don't answer if they do...I enjoy my bubble). But I don't HATE sticky hands.

I came from my hatred of sticky liquids honestly.

When I was little, my parents shared the "getting up and make breakfast for the brats duty." My mom always prepared eggs and wheat toast with fruit. My dad always made orange rolls, cinnamon toast, and pop tarts (when mom wasn't around). My favorite was waffles. He would "cook" Eggos and ask each of us if we wanted "strips" or "pieces" and he would cut the to our exacting specification. Man, we felt special. I always had strips...I was a big kid...I didn't need pieces.

But I also had LONG LONG past my shoulder blades hair. So every time I would have syrup with my waffles, some how some way I ended up with syrup in my hair. Now, that is not tragic except that on school days this would mean a rush around the house, washing my hair, drying my hair, brushing my hair. And these were the two things I hated most: rushing around and messing with my hair. And lets face it you never are too gentle with hair when you are rushing around.

After awhile, I declared ENOUGH! I would forgo my syrup to keep my hair and sanity clean.

Now I hate the taste of any sticky liquid. It is too sugary and grainy and weird...and like some Psych 101 experiment I secretly fear that it will get in my hair.

Maybe this is always why I wear a ponytail. Ah, to be inside my head...
scary place.

Friday, August 15, 2008

I'm quirky--okay just plain weird

Let's do a show of hands okay?

Who here knows I am a weirdo? (oh, well you don't have to be so enthusiastic with your show of hands) Okay so that is everyone.

Who here finds my weirdness adorable and quirky? (KW raise your hand, please)

Who here has certain quirks that you don't readily admit? (ah, see slower with the hands this time)

There are certain things that I have considered sharing on the blog that I have quickly dismissed because I may lose my readership (yes, all three of you, shut it...i value you!).

But I'm going to suck it up and bare my soul and some of my eccentricities.

1.) I don't like going to the bathroom in public. Now, I know most people would prefer to "go" at home, but I really really dislike it. I'm not so weird that I won't "go" out...I just have things I do to deal with it. Like squatting, trying to touch nothing with my hands, and if something touches the floor...its gone, just leave it. I have lost many a chapstick to this cause. After washing hands, use paper towel to grab handle if it swings in...so you don't have to touch anything, remember? Seriously, if I ever become elected to public office, I would make it law that all bathroom doors swing out. Like surgery rooms.

My hatred of public bathrooms has been exacerbated at work. Where there are 500 people (instead of my usual 20) and the staff bathrooms are cramped and cold. So I have a bathroom that I feel is farthest away from foot traffic, has space, a purse hook, and is warm. The best part of my day is when I walk in there and I know it hasn't been used yet. Wait!!! how do I know it hasn't been used...the lid is still up from the cleaning during the night. Now I still follow all my rules, but it just makes my weirdo heart scream with glee a little.

(So have I lost you yet...Darnie, can you guess which bathroom I'm talking about?)

Okay so I talked too long about that one...I guess I'm too passionate about bathrooms...see weird.

I'll be filling you in on my weirdness later, trust me. If there is anyone left.

Thursday, August 14, 2008

TRS-Coming to a City Near You

Some good news and some bad news, internet peeps.

The Good News...I may be coming to a city near you!?!
That is right...for my lovely recruitment job I am going to be in the following cities:
Atlanta, GA
Miami, FL
Fort Myers, FL
Tampa, FL
Orlando, FL
Naples, FL
Houston, TX
Dallas, TX
Tallahassee, FL
Jacksonville, FL
Gainesville, FL
Chapel Hill, NC
Davidson, NC

Here is the bad news: The way my schedule works out I will be spending 2-3 week periods away from KW and the Penny.

It hasn't hit really yet, but it will not be pretty. I hate being away from KW for more than 4 days (and that is a lot better than 2 years ago where 1 night would send me into apoplectic shock).

However, I do think that it will have some fun points: absence making the heart grow fonder and all...but the good thing on the KW front is that he is looking into coming and meeting me on a couple of the trips!!! work will pay for some of it (esp. the ones where he is looking for a job or where we have free room and board) and on the ones where work can't pay...we have an expedia ticket we need to redeem...so we may end up taking our first vacation alone in quite some time!!! That is enough to get me over the "I'm going to miss him so much" hump.

The really awesome silver lining: I will have extra days in some of those cities because work doesn't want to fly me back home and out again for 1 day. So, that means...I can meet my internet peeps on my days off.

Now, if you are one of those people that are wary of meeting internet friends (then you probably aren't a blogger, we have no sense of self preservation, right?), turn away. But if you live in or around the cities listed above and would like to meet for coffee, I WOULD LOVE TO MEET YOU!

The only reason I bring this up is because I am setting travel plans and if I can meet you, I don't want to be in another city on accident!

So, how bout it intenet besties...wanna meet? It would def. be something blog about.

Talking about motivation on Move Bug

Wednesday, August 13, 2008

Sick and Tired...no wait that was Yesterday

You know when you come back from "vacation" and you say you need a vacation...yeah this "vacation" was no exception for me.

Oh wait, you don't know what "vacation" with the quote marks means? Let me inform you:

:insert snazzy '50s jingle tune..la la la lah lah la:

You all are familiar with a vacation. It is that lovely time that you chose to be away from work and your normal routine. Whether it is a day trip to the beach, a week long jaunt to the land of Mouse Ears, or a two week excursion to the Himalayas. Vacations are meant to be a time of relaxation, rejuvenation, and fun.

:insert sound of turntable record screeching:

However, if you are doing the following things, your vacation turns into a "vacation":
-Balancing time between in laws and family
-Having to visit that aunt you haven't seen in forever
-attend a wedding
-participate in a wedding
-watch the crazy diva antics that ensue at a wedding
-go on a mother-daughter blind double date
-set up your mother's computer, photo station, and herb garden
-coordinate a super specific drop off for your rat like dog
-deal with mother in law

With any of these actions you are no longer in the land of relaxation...you are in the land of obligation. Oh yes you get to take time off of work and look like you are away at some fun filled destination but really it is just a new place and a new stress.

Sigh, still it was better than the same old stress, I can tell you that.

*warning: this was all said in jest. If you are related to me in any way, please discard what you just read and leave the blog immediately--oh, and I love you...kisses!*

Talking about fat/skinny pants at Move Bug. Give me some advice!

Monday, August 11, 2008

Being okay with the Midwest

Okay, I am back from my long sojourn from the south. To say I am happy about being back would be a bit of a lie. I cried a lot before leaving my mom's house, but I always do. And yes, I did cry a bit about having to get back into the routine of work again...but I do that all the time too. What can I tell you, I am a crier.

But back I am...with a fun addition to the Roaming Southerner blog empire (blogipire? empirblog? the folks who created Brangelina have nothing on me!): Move Bug Move.

As many of you know, I have been tracking my weight loss for awhile with my fun ticker on the sidebar to the right. I also have talked from time to time about what I am doing the Good, the Bad, the Sweaty of my weight loss saga. Well, my fear was that this would turn into a weight loss blog, which I am not comfortable with...and really, how many times can you (if you are not losing weight--I hate you you size 2 freak!?!--no no...we don't hate at the Roaming Southerner...only love and judgemental glares) read a blog about weight loss if it doesn't interest you.

In an effort to keep myself accountable but not bore those who love being bored my non-weight loss antics. I will probably link to the bottom of the TRS post when I have updated the site. So without further ado...I give you: Move Bug Move. yeah, I couldn't come up with a better name. If you have a better one...let me know!

As the week progresses, I will be spilling the beans on the CK winner (and no McMommy it is not you with your power hungry points giving extravaganza...sorry), filling you in on some of the wedding drama (if KW lets me!), and starting up a
new fun filled month of CK Trivia!

Missed you my bloggie buddies. I really did.

Wednesday, August 06, 2008

Lost

Not the show, but the fact that I have lost all but one of my loyal readers, thanks Amanda! But I have nothing much to say, but

YIIIIIIPPEEEEE!!!

I love southern food
I love the southern people
I love the southern heat

These are my people and this is my town and I pray that I am back here one day permanently.

However, I trust in God that we may end up in Wyoming, Alaska, Hong Kong or England.
and my mom is trying to get a grip on it.

Seriously though, my brothers are the funniest most hilarious people ever...and my mom and dad only add fodder to their awesomeness.

How I have been able to stay away from them for 9 months is beyond me.

Icing on the cake: I get to see two of my best and only girl friends from high school of Friday!

I miss y'all please show some love, even if blogger doesn't.

Blogger: a testy love

So..it has been two days of waiting to see if Blogger loves me again from being away for so long. And it has reluctantly accepted me back into its life...for now.

The past few days have been full of talking to my mom until I am blue in the face...laughing with my brothers until my stomach hurt...and having a great time!

The only trouble has been my lil' Penny. She is not used to the space of a house or a yard or hard wood floors...and it has been not so much fun for her. The space is confusing to her...the hardwood slippery...and the yard...okay, that is fun!

KW and I are having fun not being at work and just hanging out with no plans.

Today my mom, dad, and my youngest brother is going with us to the Georgia Aquarium. It should be fun if for nothing else because my brother is sure to have a colorful commentary for everything.

Well, I need to run. There are 4 dogs here now, and they need lots of attention. Not to mention my office has been calling for information that I can't give them, and my mom is trying to cram 10 months of mother-daughter bonding in 6 days.

Sorry for my absence of blogging...you can blame my finicky love, Blogger.

Thursday, July 31, 2008

My Little

I made it! I've traveled all the way from Mommyville and get to write on TRS' blog for the day! I almost wrote this post at 2:00 this morning about why it sucks being up at 2:00 in the morning because Ruthie (almost 1) has a nasty cold and has been waking up at ridiculous hours the past two nights. But I spared you my spewed frustration and waited until I had a few more hours sleep, with coffee in hand. 

So, how do I know TRS? The better question is how DON'T I know TRS? When I was at the University, I was a member of the Outdoor Club, the ultimate frisbee team, FCA, and in a sorority. Oh, those don't really fit? I was definitely one of the more outdoorsy sorority members, but I had fun nonetheless. One the first day of frisbee practice my sophomore year, a very cool, very tall freshman girl joined us. We were paired up to guard each other, and not long after meeting her I decided I wanted her in our sorority. And not only that, I wanted her as my little sister. My big sister was also on the frisbee team, so I knew we'd make the perfect family. While breaking many rush rules, I got my wish. All three of us were bestowed the Granola Girl award our senior years (hence my pen name). 

TRS was my maid of honor at my wedding to Mr. Incredible (also known as T.S. on the blog), and I was her matron of honor at her wedding to KW. The summer she and KW started dating, I actually tried to hook her up with one of T.S.'s friends, not knowing this other guy was after her. Someday you'll have to get her to tell you the story of Ocean City, a small plane, and the Attack of the Killer Seagulls. 

Did you know she also does hair? She sculpted this 'do for me, and did my hair on my wedding day!

TRS is the Ultimate Cool Kid. She was the one who brought back the jean jacket. She was the first one to truly understand the greatness that is the Flip Flop (we both wore them to at least one sorority formal). She can quote all the great movies, and has a super sharp wit. She throws an awesome Bachlorette Party and it a great gift-giver. While she may be my Little, I want to be just like her when I grow up. 

But you guys already know this, because you read her blog! Isn't she the greatest? I can't get enough of The Roaming Southerner! We still daydream about living on the same street someday so we can raise our kids together.... but at this rate mine will be babysitting hers!

I love you, TRS! I hope you're having an awesome time with Penny and KW on your road trip. Can't wait to hear all about it!

Tuesday, July 29, 2008

The Best Guest Post You Have Ever Read.

NO WAY!!!!!!!!!!!

No way did The Roaming Southerner give me--McMommy-- the keys to her place while she is away!!

Before I begin The BEST GUEST POST YOU HAVE EVER READ...
I want to award myself 150 Cool Kid Points for no reason whatsoever other than the fact that I CAN.

Because I'm in charge today.

As any frequent reader of The Roaming Southerner (hereby referred to as TRS) knows, she has an ongoing trivia game...whereby you rack up "Cool Kid Points" every time you answer her trivia questions correctly.

You can see by the scorecard on the sidebar....I have no points.
I never answer the questions in time.
Because someone continually beats me to it.
Well today, I just have one thing to say....

You're going DOWN, Adcock's Circus!

(BAM! I just awarded myself another 30 points for no reason at all.)

Ok, so now that I got that off my chest, here's my conversation with TRS in the days prior...

TRS: "So I'm going away for a few days and was wondering if you could blog-sit while I'm gone."

McMommy (acting all nonchalant): "Umm, whatever. Yeah, I guess so. I don't have to water your plants or anything, do I?"

TRS: "What? You haven't started drinking already, have you? It's only 11am, for crying out loud. Look, just write a guest blog post for me and don't mess with my blog. What are you going to write about?"

McMommy: "I've got the greatest blog post idea ever!!! No hints! It's reallllllllyyyy good though! You are going to love it!!"


*ahem*

Um yeah.

I was TOTALLY LYING.

The truth is: I have no flippin' idea what to write about.

I mean, don't get me wrong.....I've tried and tried to think of something to write about.....

I thought about doing a post on my annoying misuse of exclamation points!!! and CAPS and ellipses.....

I thought about ways to freak TRS out about having kids. But I already did that.

I thought about writing a post using super freaky-deaky words that will get her Google Analytics working overtime. But I didn't want to be a boob about it. Or write anything that would make TRS feel emotionally vulnerable and exposed to the wackos out there.
And I don't care what you say, that's the naked truth!!

(350 CPK points for that one! Too bad so sad, Adcock's Circus!)

Oh well, I give up. I don't have a clue about what to write.

But can I offer you these little nuggets (eww! I just said the word nugget! I hate that word!) of wisdom before you leave?

1. Sometimes, it's ok to lie. But only when you have nothing to blog about and TRS has asked you to guest post. And then you name it "The Best Guest Post You Have Ever Read". (Which is obviously another total lie.)

2. Sometimes, it's ok to award yourself an additional 4,000 points to ensure you stay in first place in make-believe trivia contests.

3. Don't ever title your guest post THE BEST GUEST POST YOU HAVE EVER READ. Because that is just wayyyyyyyy too much pressure. And then people will have expectations: Like an actual entertaining blog post.
And the truth is, you've got NOTHING.
And they will totally call you out as The Most Boring Guest Poster Ever.

But then you can tell them: "SO?! Who cares?? I have 50,000 Cool Kid Points and you don't!"


But because I'm don't want you all complaining to TRS that I was the most boring guest poster in the world, I thought I'd bribe...er...send you home with a little parting gift....


25 Cool Kid Points.


(what? You didn't actually think i would bestow enough CPK points to allow you the chance of possibly beating me, did you?)


Now does anyone around here know where the heck her plants are???
post signature

I'm Going Going...Back Back

I am out of here internet peeps! And I will miss you dearly.
But as I promised, I have lined up some premo entertainment while I'm away...

Even better than that lame and crazy assistant cruise director who loves hearing you say his name, you know who you are Edwin.

So here is your mid-week entertainment line up!

Wednesday on the Ledo Deck: I've got my girl, McMommy, guest posting. However, I have no idea what she is going to say. She will give me no hints. And I am petrified. Will she scare away all three of my readers!??! DON'T DO IT MCMOMMY! I'm only one measely blogger!

Thursday at the Neptunes Lounge: I have stolen one of my best friends (from real life) and big sister (from sorority) away from the Mommyhood: Granola Girl. And again, I have no idea what she will say. I promise you that if she wanted to, it could be full of crazy embarassing stories of me. But knowing how sweet she is...I'm sure it will be nice and knowing how funny she is...you might want to be wearing your Depends--just warning ya!

Yes, I have coaxed some of the greatest (in my mind) mommmy bloggers out of their mini-van shaped safe haven of wiping and whining...so I may come back to the internet on Friday to see crushed cheerios in the floor mat and questionable goos on the windows (not to mention they can mention all sorts of naughty things to make my google search go crazy!).

But do come by and leave lots of comments about how much you love me...I mean THEM!

Monday, July 28, 2008

It's all about Val

In the excitement to see my family...I thought I would do trivia in Jeopardy style using my sister in law as inspiration. So this trivia will all have my sister in law's name somewhere in the clue:

1.) What calming drug is favored by our favorite Anastasia Beaverhousen? (3 pts.)
2.) What fashion rule states that men should never wear white sneakers with jeans? Named after the heart throb actor who made it up? (5 pts.)
3.) This person is also called best in their class? (2 pts.)
4.) This is the name of not one but many martyred saints in Rome whose feast day is very romantic? (8 pts.)
5.) This is just a guessing game: What is my sister-in-law Valerie's middle name? here are you clues, just guess...it has two syllables and starts with an M (25 pts.)

It is getting toward the end of the month so this could be big in the standings!!!!
Remember the person with the most points is winning something super cool! You can also try and stump me for 10 pts. a stump!

Who is the coolest kid?

Sunday, July 27, 2008

The Coming Week

Okay, internets, hold onto your britches...



I'm heading South in 3 short days!!!

Can you believe it?!?! I haven't seen my family in 9 months and I get to spend a whole week with them?!?!

To get to my family, I have the wedding of my brother-in-law this LONG weekend before. It is one of those destination 4+ day weddings..so it is going to be a big do.

It will all be worth it to hang out with my family.

The best part (well okay, a great part) is that we get to bring Penny with us. My sweet wonderful brother is driving up to SC to pick her up before the wedding so she will be waiting for us in ATL when we get there for the week!!!

To get ready for the vacation, I am going to be SWAMPED! Work has already been crazy but I am going to have to do a butt load of work to get ready to go. AND I am going to have to get me, Ken, and Penny ready for the trip at night.

It is going to be busy as shizz.
But do not fret, my internet pets...I am lining up some fun entertainments while I am traveling all Wednesday and Thursday. And will try and be a more diligent Twitter-er, as a request from McMommy.

If you could start praying for some safe travels, my brother-in-law's marriage and wedding weekend, and a nice visit with my family, I would appreciate it...

However, more prayers are needed...head over to McMommy to start cheering for Heather.

Here is my comment for the Heather-quilt: I couldn't post my pic on McMommy's site.

here is the other button I made...

Heather-san, You have much power to dominate your enemy!

We are behind you!

Wednesday, July 23, 2008

Things I Want My Daughter To Know #2: Manners (beyond please and thank you)

The long awaited and debated sequel in my series of posts about what I want to teach my children. Again, this is for me to get y'alls opinions and also think about what I hope to pass on to my next generation--whenever that happens, Mother!

Merriam-Webster, who I already have issues with, defines manners as:

(1): a characteristic or customary mode of acting : custom (2): a mode of procedure or way of acting : fashion (3): method of artistic execution or mode of presentation : style bplural : social conduct or rules of conduct as shown in the prevalent customs c: characteristic or distinctive bearing, air, or deportment dplural (1): habitual conduct or deportment : behavior (2): good manners e: a distinguished or stylish air

My mom always told me that manners existed to make everyone feel comfortable (not just yourself). Now, she wasn't a big formal place setting for every day use (paper towels are great everyday napkins for us!) but she had several rules that she implemented that I hope to pass down to my children.

1.) Ma'am and Sir. My parents instituted saying Yes/No Ma'am/Sir from a very early age for three reasons. They used it as a sign of respect but also to signal that we were really listening (no "Yeahs" in our house). My mom also said it is easier for me to say ma'am as a little kid than to remember if the adult preferred to be called Ms. Mrs. Miss. Still Married name. Divorced name. First name...that also allows the adult to tell me what name they prefer.

Look, I know some people don't like it when they are called ma'am because it makes them feel old, but I'm going to shoot straight with you: Get Over It! I call a two-year old ma'am...it has nothing to do with age. When I use it for people younger it is usually used to get the child's attention and signify that we are talking about something serious. "No, sir! we don't play in the street...lick a toilet bowl, or call people names." (if I could record the sound of it...it sounds really southern, I can't lie.)

KW was not brought up saying Ma'am and Sir by his Yankee parents, but he has learned to say it and has realized that most people will consider him a kind, polite, and considerate person when he does...instead of short, rude, or pompous. Ah, the power of one word!

2.) No calling people after 9pm. This particularly includes people with children under 12. Even with cell phones and caller ID, at best it is distracting to the routine of evenings and bedtimes, at worst most people get nervous when people call late (right, McMommy?) thinking something is wrong.

3.) Opening doors for others. Yes, guys should open doors for ladies at all times! (My only exception is car doors...that should just be for the guy's significant other...think about it...that is socially awkward otherwise.) But it is not just for guys! Everyone should open doors for EVERYONE, not just elderly, handicapped, and young (although you really should for those). I see opening a door for someone as an acknowledgement that THAT PERSON EXISTS. You are saying to that person/stranger...I realize you are there. When I first moved to DC, I was alone for most of the time and would walk around the mall or grocery store desperate to talk to someone. For someone to acknowledge that I was there!!! The first time someone opened the door for me there (2 months after I moved there and I had a cast on...I almost cried!). Even polite behavior can make someone's day!

These are the first three that come to mind, but I'm sure there are many others. What manners were you taught? What manners do you think are superfluous or necessary?

Tuesday, July 22, 2008

Laughing At Work

Okay, work is crazy and I have never been a good at home blogger. Yes, Curtis, I blog during lunch and when sitting on the phone for hours listening to a dial tone. I admit it. But before I head into my morning meeting...I wanted to leave you with this:



I know Mariah too early in the morning is harsh but this makes me laugh every time.

CK Trivia:
1.) Who is the Uber-fabulous designer/stylist to Mariah? (4 pts.)
2.) Who is Mariah's new husband? (2 pts.)
3.) What MTV show did she famously strip down for? (2 pts.)
4.) What is Mariah's alter ego name? (2 pts.)
5.) How big of a diva is Mariah? (best/most creative answer gets 20 pts.!)

Wednesday, July 16, 2008

Trivia for Trivia's Sake

Since trivia is meant to be meaningless and well, trivial, I thought I would throw out some fun random questions that come to my head:

1.) Which 80's girl group lead singer had an "affair" with Prince? (3 pts.)
2.) Can you give me the line from the Aeneid when the Trojans receive their fateful horse from the Greeks? (5 pts and because I am an Latin geek 10 pts for the Latin)
3.) What is the significance of wearing "Something Blue" at your wedding? (4 pts.)
4.) Billy Madison was talking about this biological function when he said, "Chlorophyll! It's more like Borophyll." (5 pts.)
5.) This baseball Hall of Famer was at the All Star Game last night and I said, "oh, He is from the Hanukkah Song!?!" (KW said, "and an amazing baseball player!)...name that baseball player. (5 pts.)

So, do you feel smarter in the dumb arts of trivia? Good!

Tuesday, July 15, 2008

Good Investments

So, KW has handcuffed me to the TV to watch the All Star Game. Don't worry, my captor is humane and gave me control over the laptop.

I know, somehow I am cool with the NBA Draft Night but this is seriously the most mind numbing thing on TV. I would rather watch Wipeout, it is that bad.

I LOVE YANKEES, I LOVE NEW YORK, I LOVE THE STADIUM
blurgh

I was cruising my blogroll, while I had the following conversation with KW:

KW: Hey did you hear that?
Me, devoted wife: Uh huh, that is cool...
KW: What is cool?
Me: baseball, right?
KW: NO! They just said George Steinbrenner bought Yankees stadium for $10 million and it is now worth $1 Billion
Me, still glazed over: That is a good investment
KW: We should do that.
Me, now alert cause this is totally something he would want to do: Yeah, but he had to put a lot of money into it, right?
KW: sure but it is worth it
Me, slightly alarmed but still laughing too hard at blogs: But they are tearing it down...so it is obviously not worth it...shoddy craftsmanship
KW: Don't worry I won't try and purchase a baseball field for investment purposes
Me, mollified with eyes never leaving the computer screen: Promise?
KW: Yeah, but I did see a golf course in SC for $1 Million
Me: Well, that is okay...wait WHAT!?!

Never talk to husband while blogging...bad things could happen.

Thankfully, I saw some change in the dryer earlier so we are set for a down payment, don't worry

KW just informed me that he bought the YANKEES not the building...duh!

Cyber Stalking Gets You Nowhere...Fast

While strolling through the aisles of Beans & Co., I stumbled upon a blog that seems to belong to Beans' mysterious uncle: the one who likes to gum babies heads, finds amazingness on Youtube (that Amanda passes on to me to make me laugh when I am down), and seemingly has really cool taste in blogs and sites.

I was glancing through his sadly neglected blog (after carefully deducing that it is Beans' uncle) and found this site. Oh my Love and Betsy! It is amazing.

This site is from a photographer, named Bill Wadman, who posted a picture every day for 365 days. Some of the pictures are of really cool people (like her, him) and some just regular cool people...and his work is amazing!

Ugh, I want to take pictures like that someday...okay I want a decent lens someday as well...so maybe one can beget the other...when I win the lottery.

But one interesting aspect of the site is that each person has their name, a description of themselves, job, and the location of the shot.

I, in my vain narcissistic self, asked myself (we, narcissists, often talk to ourselves...being the best people around to talk to), "What would my title/description be?" and "What do I want it to be?"

Awhile ago, I was joking with someone that I needed a business card that said:

The Roaming Southerner
blogger-graphic designer-Pox Free Since 2008


and while that is a good start, that obviously can't be it. Can it?
It is like trying to write your eulogy or what you want to be buried in?

Some of the people are called Sasstastic or Bon Vivant or Astronaut (okay that is only Buzz Aldrin), but I still have no idea how I want to be described.

Loved- yeah, that sounds good
Hilarity on a Stick- awesome I'll take that label
Ex Tomboy- that fits
Mom-to-all- My brothers and some friends would say so
Adventurer- No, that is KW's thing
Ostrich- KW calls me that because I hate Schindler's List and bad things like genocide and perms.
Blindly Faithful- yup, that sounds like me. I just trust in life, God, people.

I don't think I want to be labeled anything plain: Wife, Daughter, Non profit slave...I want some vibrancy. I was plain in HS in an attempt to blend in...NO MORE!

What do you want to be labeled? Anything you don't want to be labeled?

Monday, July 14, 2008

In My Opinion: Jon & Kate Plus 8

So if you pay attention to the mom blogosphere, you may have noticed some uproar about Jon & Kate Plus 8.

I have watched this TLC show for years...since it was just this special about a crazy family with 6 newborns. And I enjoyed it. It was nice to see how someone handles something that scares the bejesus out of me. It made child-rearing seem less scary even with all the chaos, crazy, and poop.

But people on the blogs are talking about some of the negatives of the show:
1.) The way Kate is shrill and kinda OCD
2.) That Jon and Kate are monopolizing the situation for free stuff
3.) That they are hurting their children in the process

Here are my thoughts on them:
1.) Kate's shrillness bothered me at first, but it made me feel better "at least I'm not that sharp with you, KW." I do think that Kate is a bit crazy about the anti mess, but if I had to clean after them and was a nurse/had preemies/knew all the germs in the world...then I would be that nuts too.

*it is said on certain blogs that they have a personal chef and more help than it seems on the show...I still say, "good for them!" If the show lets them have a bit easier time with 8 kids, then that is cool.

2.) once again see "if the show lets them have a bit easier time with 8 kids, then that is cool." KW has often said, "why would they do all of these activities with those kids if it is driving them crazy?" I told him, "they can't just stay inside in a bunker the whole time, plus they get to have these memories."

*also, they have to eventually have 8 college tuitions, braces, etc to pay for...if this lets them do that, then it seems like a good thing. The show also allowed Kate to quit her nursing job and now I think that Jon works from home too. They get more quality time with their parents, which always seems like a good thing to me.

3.) Stuff like Gumgate and Cupcakegate were not fine points in Kate's parenting that is for sure. Like Joel (i think it was Joel), had his teddy threatened to be thrown away when Kate found out that there was gum on it, I had my comfort item, my blankie, threatened away for me when I would lose him (yes, he is a HIM) or left him out where he didn't belong. My parents always used to pretend to throw it away to mess with me (well, mainly my dad)...that never went over well. But back to Joel: I think Kate lost it as anyone does/will do with kids and PMS let alone someone with 8 kids and we saw it happen.

Look, I see the good and bad with this show and the exploitation of the family. However, I still enjoy the show, with the Gosslins the best...and understand that other people have other thoughts. I have commented on a few peoples sites and forums, but just thought I would express myself into the blog-o-world. I watched all the episodes last night and I still feel that it works for them, who am I to judge! If you have any opinions: let me know!

PS: don't tell my mother-in-law, but if a camera crew followed me around all day they would see some 'tude from me directed toward KW...just saying.

PPS: I don't think the Aunt Jodi blog is legit. She seems cool and wouldn't be kosher with all this.

Friday, July 11, 2008

You You You Outta Know

You knew I'd be back didn't you. I know I know, two days and no posting...I was almost lost to you all, I swear. I was lying down in the mirey hole or holy mire of work. Yes, it had a striking resemblance to those Career Builder commercials:



No, I don't have an office manager made of postits announcing jousting time or a spiffy three-ring binder helmet but close! But I fought back...won my race...and I am back to you, my love, my Internet.

In plain hard truth, I had been putting off a really intricate and difficult task of a web redesign for awhile because it needed to be done in one long haul. So, I took myself "off the grid" to be more efficient but spending 10 straight hours staring at computer screens and pictures didn't really incite me to want to do it for fun.

But I am back.



Saw this while I was searching for the Career Builder commercial...it's Donkey Lips! From Salute your Shorts. This is proof that God exists and that he loves me. What? Some see a waterfall or a butterfly and know God. Me? God was checking out the old blog, saw the post on my love of Nick, and placed this ad to show he cares. Thanks, God, for the chuckle.

Oh, and for the officemate who told me that she found out last night that has been speaking incorrect Portuguese to her husband (who is Portuguese) for years. Instead of saying, "Let's go to sleep"...she has been saying "Let's got to sloop!" "Did you sloop well, last night, dear?" "Oh, I'm a sloopy head!"
I was laughing so hard that Diet Coke almost came out of my ears. It was magnificent.

So, you can take your mountains majesty...to me laughter is proof that God exists and that he loves me!!! So there!

B.T.Dubs: Missed you!!! Smooches

Trivia Time:
1.) I am mocking a song in the title: from what CD is that song from? (2 pts.)
2.) The singer has had two very public break ups, name those Exes (3 pts. each)
3.) In what TV show did the singer get her start in? (3 pts.)

Tuesday, July 08, 2008

Had to Pass it Along

Found this at Wendi's and had to share:



1.) Do you know the other forms of this vaccine that strengthens the effects of the original? (I know two, if you can tell me more bonus points!) 5 pts.
2.) What is the easiest way to transmit cooties (yes, there is a real answer)? 10 pts.
3.) What is the suggested age range for The Cooties Game? 3 pts.

Monday, July 07, 2008

I like to Rock And Roll

Today a miraculous thing happened...for a Monday. McMommy and I have discovered our shared love of Hair Bands.

So to wake your faces, enjoy a little GnR

I was deciding between this and Paradise City. But The Jungle is a little more in your face...like a Monday.

Today's Trivia:
1.) What Teen Movie featured a kick butt rendition of Paradise City? (5 pts)
2.) What movie did the lead actor from Question #1 star as a pot head employee of a record store? (3 pts.)
3.) From that movie, what is the name of the lead actress' real life child? (2 pts.)

Bonus: What twin hair band duo rocked our faces and t-shirts in the 80s? (5pts)

It is like 6th degree's of Kevin Bacon only sillier. I'm trying to do a better job of stumping Adcock but still making my questions clear. If it is not: tell me...I will work on it.

To wind you down: my favorite song of the 5th grade

Because I like him like that

We all know I am a bit crazy about KW's birthday...as I demonstrated with my week long of festivities commemorating my husband's birth.

Well, it isn't over.

I decided a month or so ago to throw him a Little Boy Birthday Bowling Party complete with Transformers Theme.

KW had a traumatic experience in his childhood. ::You may want to be sitting down for this:: When he was 9 years old, he was invited to go to Richard Henley's birthday party at the bowling alley. He was extremely excited. When he asked his mom if he could go, she said no because they had tickets to see the Nutcracker that day and he had to go with the family. KW was crushed. So off they went to the Nutcracker, while KW missed out on the gloriousness that is 10 9-year olds hopped up on sugar throwing 8 lb weights at each other. When they got to the Nutcracker, KW's little sister threw up on the lady in front of her...so they had to leave. So this tragic missing of the party was for naught. (Although seeing Val throw up on someone sounds like fun to me!)

KW has lamented this missed party ever since. If you ask his mother what is one of the two things that KW always complains about, she will say, "having to walk out on Ernest Scared Stupid in the movie theater and missing Richard Henley's birthday party."

To right this egregious wrong, I am throwing him his own bowling party. This week will be full of me getting ready.

I have to book the lanes, get the goody bags, make sure the friends are coming, and....I'm sure I'm forgetting something?

What else should I do? You all (well most of you) have kids...what do you do for these parties? Anything I should adapt into big kid fun? Mini bottles of hooch in the goody bags seems like a good idea?

Hope you all had a great 4th! I had a blast watching some rednecks blow s**t up. Yes, we have rednecks in Michigan. I also have cooked out 3 times this weekend, drank lots of yummy drinks, and had a great time. Oh, don't let me forget to tell y'all about this divine and deadly creation: the Mexican Martini!

Thursday, July 03, 2008

I Must I Must I Must be Productive!***QUESTION UNANSWERED***

***Since No on has gotten question #3 yet, I will give 25 pts. if someone can answer it!***

No long post till this evening, but I do want to encourage you all to try and stump me for trivia points and still leave comments (even if Jill steals all the points in 2 sec!)

Click Here to learn more about Cool Kid Points and to join in on the fun!

Quick Trivia:
1.) Can you tell the phrase that I am paraphrasing in the title? (2 pts.)
2.) Which book did it come from? (2 pts.) and who is the author? (1 pt.)
3.) Which TV cartoon star uses this phrase when starting her teaching job? (5 pts.)

***I'll rewrite the question: Which TV Cartoon uses the title of the book when one of it's stars starts her new teaching job? (25 pts.)

Wednesday, July 02, 2008

Al-E's Gotta Brand New Bag

Look what I got in the mail last week!

It is from my bestie, McMommy! She showed off one that she got for her birthday and sent me one for being her on-call photoshopper (it sounds better than Blog-Button-Bitch). Isn't it supercute!?! I use it all the time. And if you know me, I have tons of bags but this one is so special...plus it has amazing amounts of pockets.

Now, McMommy has gone and outdone herself! She has started her own business venture of monogramming, which I'm totally crazy about! Go over to Mcmommyandme.com and look at the cool bags, jewelry, housewares...everything personalized. My preppy heart sings as my eyes drool at the catalogue. I can't decide if I like the Sorbet Swag bag, the travel cases, or the Nottingham collection...okay all of it! The cool thing is that you can customize all of your bags with specific monogramming, colors, ribbons, etc. So if I wanted all green all the time...that could happen! This is mondo exciting!

Go over and visit her and see what is up...tell her I sent ya! I sound like a little country store proprietor!


When KW saw this picture, he said, "It looks like you are the Emergency Response Team for Southern Needs!" I totally could see it: my cool pockets stuffed with prepared grits, mini jugs of sweet tea, containers of sweet potato casserole, rations of pound cake, and chick-fil-a coupons. HELP ROAMING SOUTHERNER HELP!!! My heart is too clear and blood pressure too normal...I need fried okra STAT!

Dun Da Duhn! The ROAMING SOUTHERNER to the rescue!

CK Trivia:
1.) what song am I mocking in the title? (1 CK pt.)
2.) who sang it originally (2 CK pts.)
3.) what 1993 comedy aptly featured this song during a montage (5 Ck pts.)

Childhood Memories

While growing up, I was not the coolest kid in the block (try to act surprised). I spent a lot of my time hanging with my brothers and neighborhood friends watching Nick on the weekends. Whether it was Saturday morning cartoons, Friday afternoon getting ready for the gloriousness that was T.G.I.F., or chilling while out on a sick day, I am the product of a Nickelodeon household. Many of my jokes with my brothers are from those shows: Doug, All That, Salute Your Shorts, and Adventures of Pete & Pete. Also, Nick had many of my 5th grade heroes: Clarissa since she Explains it All, Alex Mack (hello her name is Alex and she's a girl!), Melody from Hey Dude (she had the best hair!).

Now, YouTube is sufficiently lacking in evidence of these hilarity quips. But to this day, my brothers and I still mimic Kennan Thompson's Food on a Stick Sketch. There isn't much to it...you just shake your butt a lot and say, 'Uhn, Uhn, Chicken/Pork/Cheese/any type of food-on-a-stick.' We thought it was HILARIOUS! Okay, I still do.

Any other Nick Lovers out there? What was one of your fav. shows growing up?

CK Trivia for Nick Shows:

1.) What is the name of the tattoo on Little Pete's arm? (2 pts.)
2.) What kind of pet did Clarissa have? (2 pts.) And what is that pet's name? (2 pts.)
3.) What production powerhouse got their start producing hit cartoon shows like David the Gnome? (10 pts.)

Tuesday, July 01, 2008

More CK Point opportunities

This whole Cool Kids Trivia Club is a brain child after my girl, Red & White Preppy (FYI, not Red, White and Preppy...that is someone else...found that out by mistake), guessed my Sister Mary Clarence reference some time back. Now, I have explained many times my fascination with nicknames: mine from my family, mine from KW, how this is passed on by my dad, how everyone I know gets a nickname sooner or later, that includes my dog.

The only thing that is funnier to me than nicknames and the way you get them is the Alias. The Otherwise Known As. The AKA...

So for your trivia...can you give me the actual name and the show of these famous aliases:

1.) Anastasia Beaverhousen (1 CK pt.)
2.) Regina Falange (2 CK pts.)
3.) Jack Package (3 CK pts.)


If you are not familiar with Cool Points, please read up here.

My Cool Points Brings All the Commenters to the Yard***UPDATE: Winner and New Idea***

To reward my freakin' cool peeps, I have decided to do a bit of a contest!

If you haven't noticed, I'm a bit of a pop culture addict. It infiltrates my subconscious, my writing, my moves...everything!

Every post or so, I will most likely make an oblique cultural reference (this could be music, movies, TV, history from any era!)and ask you a question to go with it:

Who sings the song I am mocking in my title? (2 CK pts.)
or What is the real title of the song I am mocking in my title? (1 CK pts.)
Who is that singer married to? (4 CK pts.)
YEA, Jill, who guessed almost the second I hit publish! 7 CK pts. to you!

Yes, it is sad that I know this off the top of my head. Since I obtained this info trying to act like a Cool Kid, I have dubbed these Cool Kid points. I figured I should exercise all that knowledge in my head, reward those who know it as well, and educate those who don't!

The first person to get the answer correct wins the allotted points (more points for the harder the question).

The person with the most points at the end of the month wins a fun prize...um...not sure what it is yet, but it will be worth it. I will keep track on my sidebar!

So to start us off...can anyone answer those questions above?

My girl, Red White & Preppy, came up with another version for those late commenters...ask me a trivia question PERTAINING to the topic. If I can't answer it...1 CK pt. to you!
This is gonna be fun!